Buckwheat Orange Cake

20130717-212732.jpg
I made this cake because I love challenges, I am really stubborn and I truly believe that limitations can do great things for creativity. After my almond obsession of the last weeks I am having to take a step back since I am pretty sure I have over done it. A year ago I took an allergy blood test, which I completely ignored and the results showed an allergy to chicken protein, cow milk, peanuts, soy and almonds. In general I never eat any chicken products or drink cow milk and the occasional peanut butter sandwich never seemed to affect me. I have been eating soy consistently for the last 25 years without noticing any problems and almonds were never a problem until these last couple of weeks when I did some serious experimenting making different sorts of almond milk, almond pie crusts, almond pastes and anything else I could imagine. The result was that I began to feel itchy all over, I asked the doctor about this and she said that allergies are like a bucket, you can deal with a certain food until you have reached your maximum and your bucket is full and then the body will react.
Well my bucket is full, and after I detox from this almond attack I will take a more moderate approach to this delicious nut.

This evening I took on the challenge of creating a allergy free cake for myself(others were also allowed moderate pieces if they begged) and I really enjoyed the process of working with limitations. But you know, I didn’t feel limited, in the process of creating this cake I felt a sense of structure and order. I was reminded of my harmony exercises at the conservatory where I had to write a musical progression or phrase using only certain chords and using these chords only in a certain way in order to follow and understand the rules of composition of a certain musical period.
I usually enjoyed writing these progression because although there were some very strict limitations as to what was allowed and how long the phrases should be, because of these limitations the process of creation was clean and beautiful, and when the ingredients where used properly the result had a sense of balance and a feeling that one was hearing or creating something new which at the same time felt as if it had always existed. Making my buckwheat cake felt like that, although I had never made a buckwheat cake with orange glaze, the inner peace that I had in the process of using the ingredients I had chosen, the texture of the batter, the look and smell of the cake when it came out of the oven and the conviction that I had to frost it or glaze it with orange flavor was something that just seemed inevitable.

2 cups buckwheat flakes made into flour by putting in the food processor till fine
1/2 cup spelt flour
1 tbs baking powder
1 tsp baking soda5 tbs chia flakes
1 tbs maca
1/2 cup coconut flakes
the juice of one orange and the grated orange peel
1/4 cup coconut oil melted
1/2 cup maple syrup
4 tbs succanat
1/2 cup water

-mix the dry ingredients in a large bowl
-in another bowl mix the wet ingredients including the orange peel
-mix the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients
-pour the batter into a prepared round cake pan with wax paper on the bottom and oiled sides
-bake in a pre warmed oven at 190* for about 25 minutes(but check after 15 minutes by inserting a clean knife in the center of the cake and it comes out clean)
-after the cake is done let it cool before un molding it

Frosting
1 cup of water
1/2 cup maple syrup
1 tbs agar powder
1tbs arrowroot dissolved in a couple tsps water
the juice of 3 oranges
4tbs succanat
3 tbs coconut oil
1 tbs chia seeds
1 tbs black sesame seeds

-heat the water and the maple syrup in a small pan
-whisk in the agar and bring to boiling point and add the dissolved arrowroot
-stir until the arrowroot is cooked and the liquid is thick and shiny
-add the orange juice and stir well
-put mixture in a wide container and put it in the freezer until it sets
-while the mixture sets mix the succanat and coconut oil with a hand blender
-blend the set agar with the coconut oil and succanat mixture
-stir the chia seeds and frost the cake
-sprinkle with black sesame seeds

I decorated the cake with dried tiny roses I bought in an Asian food store in Amsterdam

20130717-212806.jpg

20130717-212836.jpg

2 thoughts on “Buckwheat Orange Cake

Leave a Reply

